Top Of The Food Chain

As I mentioned in my last post, there are roughly 60 species of eagles, in total, across the world.  The majority of the 60 are from Europe, Asia, and Africa.  There are only two species of eagles in North America.  The other twelve are in Central America, South America, and Australia.  

Eagles are surprisingly large birds.  Most of the time they are spotted soaring over a huge body of water or perched high on a tree but if you take a closer look, you’ll see the true nature of these powerful raptors.  They can be as big as 15lbs.  Most of the eagles around the world are larger than any other raptor besides certain vultures.  

There is one species of eagles that is an exception to their large size.  It is the booted eagle.  It actually is the smallest of the species.  They can found in North Africa, Europe and Asia and grow up to about 2lbs.  

As I mentioned at the end of my previous post, eagles can be divided into four groups (unofficially). We have the:

Harpy Eagles
The harpy eagle is the most powerful and the largest raptor that is found in the Americas.  They don’t inhabit any areas in North America.  They are found more in rain forests in the upper canopy.  In the group, you have harpy eagles, crested eagles, papuan eagles, philippine eagle, chaco eagle, and the solitary eagle.  I must note that all the eagles in this group aren’t all necessarily related.  They are just unofficially grouped together.

Snake Eagles
These eagles can be called both snake eagles and serpent eagles.  The name basically tells it all.  These particular eagles live primarily off of snakes and other reptiles.  They have a medium to large build. These egales include: Short-toed snake eagle, Beaudouin’s snake eagle, Black-chested snake eagle, Brown snake eagle, Southern banded snake eagle, Western banded snake eagle, Congo serpent eagle, Crested serpent eagle, Great Nicobar serpent eagle, Mountain serpent eagle, Sulawesi serpent eagle, Philippine serpent eagle, Andaman serpent eagle, Madagascan serpent eagle, Bateleur, and the Philippine eagle.

True Eagles
These are usually medium sized eagles and they inhabit New Guinea, Asia, Australia, Europe, and Africa. The eagles in this group include: Bonelli’s eagle, Cassin’s hawk-eagle, African hawk-eagle, Rufous-bellied eagle, Golden eagle, Eastern imperial eagle, Spanish imperial eagle, Steppe eagle, Tawny eagle, Verreaux’s eagle, Gurney’s eagle, Wahlberg’s eagle, Wedge-tailed eagle, and the Tasmanian wedge-tailed eagle.

Fish eagles
These eagles can also be referred to as sea eagles.  The large part of their diet consists of fish and they will eat it no matter if its alive or dead.  This eagle group consist of White-bellied sea eagle, Sanford’s sea eagle, African fish eagle, Madagascan fish eagle, Pallas’s fish eagle, White-tailed eagle, Bald eagle, and the Steller’s sea eagle.

Because of the size and power of some of these birds of prey, they are considered to be at the top of the food chain in the world of birds and flying animals.  Although the larger raptors like the bald eagle eat mostly fish, they will hunt other animals as well.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *